Drop Ship Lifestyle Review: Why I Recommend You DON’T BUY IT

Rhys

Rhys

I' m an internet marketer from New Zealand, traveling and making money online is my life. Reach out to me if you have any questions.
Rhys

If you’ve considered the idea of starting your own drop shipping business then you’ll likely have come across a video training course called Drop Ship Lifestyle by Anton Kraly, which claims to give you all of the training and guidance necessary to establish, run and expand a successful drop shipping business online.

I should start off by saying I’m not an affiliate for Anton’s training, nor am I going to simply throw in a competitors affiliate link and say his course is sh*t, you should buy Product X. What I am going to do is tell you exactly what you’ll receive if you sign up, what to expect and ultimately why I recommend you don’t buy it.

This review has recently been updated (Jan 2017) to include DSL Version 5.

Drop Ship Lifestyle Review

If you’re still struggling to understand the concept of Drop Shipping then checkout this free course or I’ll cover this briefly and introduce you to the concept of drop shipping. In short, drop shipping is a way for you to sell tangible products that you don’t need to purchase up front, store somewhere and hope they sell to make a healthy profit.

The traditional way of selling goods was via a brick and mortar store or more recently an ecommerce website. The owner would go to a supplier and buy 100 units of Product X,Y and Z and place an order. The supplier would ship them to the owner, and you’d list them online or place them on the shelves.

Drop Shipping allows you to bypass the inventory component and list suppliers products on your website right away. If someone actually purchases something you’ll go to the supplier and have them ship the item/s directly to your customer in discreet packaging. If they don’t sell, you haven’t lost any money, only the time it took to list the products on your site.

Here’s a simple diagram to help explain the process better, sounds pretty interesting right?

how drop shipping works

Credit: Sellerbot

Who is Anton?

Anton Kraly was ‘apparently’ stuck in a dead end job in the USA and decided to move to South East Asia, like a lot of people who want to explore the digital nomadic lifestyle, and ultimately start their own online businesses. Anton claims to have found himself introduced to the world of drop shipping through a friend and started to create his own web stores using platforms such as Shopify where you can create a business within a few hours.

After many successful years of selling and drop shipping products remotely, Anton decided to create a course called Drop Ship Lifestyle (Now DSL for short) to share his knowledge with others. Since then it would appear that due to many affiliates getting on board (more on this later) the course has grown in popularity and is now one of the most recommended courses on drop shipping.

One of the biggest promoters of the course is Johnny FD, another digital nomad living in Chang Mai who claims the course inspired him to create his own online businesses too and as such now promotes DSL through his own dedicated affiliate page called the AntonMethod. Johnny use to make around $3,000 per month from drop shipping massage tables and recently sold his business for over $60k.

Johnny now has his own course called Drop Ship Lab, you can check it out here and my full review here. Spoiler alert: it makes lots of recommendations towards signing up for the ‘Anton Method’

Why Is Drop Ship Life Style So Popular In Reviews

DSL was originally launched (2012) with an affiliate program whereby affiliate marketers (like myself) would receive 40-50% per referral to Anton’s course. The entry level price of the course was around $250 back then and an affiliate commission of $125 was every marketers dream, especially when they are starting out. If you follow John Chow you’ll know that earning $2,000 commissions is much better and can help you buy nice things quicker.

So a ton of affiliates started promoting the course on the Clickbank network between December 2012 and November 2014 with no idea as to whether it was actually any good or not. I remember seeing reviews and they were all the same, copy and pasted photos from the sales page.

Most reviews you’ll find online were written pre-2016, have a look around.

Clickbank affiliate program

Affiliates were competing for Google Page 1 Results, YouTube videos and any other way to make a quick buck. CPA networks such as Peerfly and Flexoffers were brokering the offer to their thousands of affiliates who were link building and driving traffic anyway they could. You can see below how the offer looked on Flexoffers when they were paying a 50% rev share, around $125 per sale.

drop ship lifestyle affiliates

 

So Anton now had a ton of people in the course and was getting so many new signups that he claimed he was now multi millionaire by early 2015 through drop shipping although it’s fairly obvious it was from the 2,500+ members that were now part of the drop ship lifestyle community.

Important: That’s when Anton pulled the plug on all the affiliates that had worked so hard to build his brand and business online. Overnight the affiliate program disappeared without warning and any last commissions were paid out. He would later introduce a new policy, you must be a paying member to promote the course..

So overnight the course was turned into a MLM network, ever heard of MOBE, Wealthy Affiliate or MTTB? Same thing. If you’ve ever searched for a product online to get reviews on, you’ll likely see the writer give it a poor rating with a comparison table with a link to Wealthy Affiliate. While DSL isn’t as popular as Wealthy Affiliate, it’s also a MLM network.

Once you become a paying member of DSL you’re then allowed to promote the course to others. So let’s say you paid over $1,500 to access the course and you want to earn that money back, you can simply refer 6 people to also purchase the course. I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with this promotional method but it explains how DSL became so popular and why all the reviews online are so positive. That’s how MLM networks work.

Alert: Refund Policies On MLM Networks Are Sneaky
Read the refund policy very carefully on MLM networks. Most offer a no obligation 30 day money back guarantee BUT then go on to say, you must follow the steps and prove it didn’t work for you before a refund is given. The steps often cost much more money to undertake or may not even be possible (i.e. you live in a foreign country).

So What Do You Actually Get?

The course has come along way over the last four years and now claims to be in version 5.0 (Updated last: Jan 2017). To be fair the course has grown over the years but is still built on the same framework that was created in 2012, a WordPress site running Optimizepress.

The price however has increased from $250 for the entry level package to an eye watering $2,997 one time payment for the fully fledged done-for-you solution. If you aren’t fussed about the key components of the course then you can get your foot in the door for $1,997 for the original course. Until January 2017 the minimum entry fee was only $997, so the price has jumped a staggering $1,000 in the last few weeks.

It’s worth noting that version 5 was only a new design and to launch a few more videos. 

Here is how the course has changed over the last few years.

Version 2.0

Version 2.0

Version 3.0

Version 3.0

Version 4.0

Version 4.0

drop ship lifestyle version 5

Version 5.0

Version 4 of the course was divided up into four plans although for 99% of entrepreneurs you’ll probably choose 1 of 3 plans. Version 5 got rid of the ability to pick between basic and premium and is now combined together. Let’s take a look at them first and then explore them in detail below.

drop ship lifestyle pricing

Basic Package

The basic package comes in at a $997 price point whereas it was about $250 a little over two years ago. The training for the most part in this section hasn’t changed too much and is fairly outdated however the videos have been recreated for version 4.0. To give you an example the supplier research video is similar to the video I watched back in 2014 and is a very ‘basic’ way of finding suppliers. If you can use Excel and Google search, then you can find suppliers yourself.

The basic package includes the full video training course which consists of a ton of videos on introducing drop shipping through to finding suppliers, choosing a platform to build your website on and much more. Several new videos that have been introduced recently include an Adwords for eCommerce course and a eCommerce Design Course which weren’t in version 3.

Anton recommends you stay away from organic search (i.e ranking your own site on Google) in favor of using Google Adwords. If your new to eCommerce and/or marketing this isn’t very smart idea as Google Adwords is very expensive, especially if you pick a competitive niche such as electronics, clothing or beauty products.

Another new introduction is the custom Shopify theme so you can create your own drop ship store right away. Again, given there is over 4,000 other people in the DSL Members Community why would you want to use the same theme for your store as everyone else. Not only will it look unprofessional but you’ll struggle to rank well in Google due to duplicate content in the eyes of the search engines algorithm.

 

Premium Package

The premium package includes everything mentioned in the basic package with a few extra gems. For an extra $497 you’ll get access to 55 Advanced Training modules, access to the DSLabs, access to private apps and drop shipping software and access to the drop ship lifestyle supplier directory. So what does all this mean exactly?

The Drop Ship Labs section includes checklists, standard operating procedures (SOP’s) and scripts for contacting suppliers. They also include a Shopify app which is designed to automate drop shipping processes but to be honest it doesn’t work all that well.

Again the offerings here are great but using scripts and templates to contact suppliers isn’t going to make you stand out from the crowd. My advice for contacting suppliers is to call them up and find out who you need to speak with. Show some initiative rather than emailing and you’ll go much further in the drop ship world.

The supplier directory is a rather impressive selection of suppliers however for less than $65 I’d recommend you look at Salehoo which offers over 10,000 suppliers around the world rather than the select few in the Drop Ship Lifestyle portal. Comparing the portals, Salehoo is much more detailed with many more suppliers.

 

Done-For-You Package

The mother of all packages coming in at a whopping $2,997 is the done-for-you package whereby they will setup an entire website for you, so you can focus on learning and building your business. On top of them creating your website, they offer 2 hours of private coaching calls with Anton himself and two tickets to the drop ship lifestyle retreat which is held each year in an exotic location somewhere in Thailand, Vietnam or Laos. In previous years it’s been held in Thailand where digital nomads from all over the world come to network and learn.

I can’t elaborate any further on this package as I didn’t sign up for it. It is worth noting that anyone who has signed up for version 1.0, 2.0, 3.0 of the DSL course automatically got retreat tickets each year for thousands of dollars less. If you want to be part of the retreat you can probably do so without paying $2,997 for the privilege, maybe shoot Anton an email?

I haven’t received an upsell for this lately but I’ve been advised it’s at least $3,497 now.

What is Version 5 of DSL?

Version 5 has removed the basic package and combined the premium package into the only offer. They have also added a content module on setting up a USA business from overseas section which I mentioned in July 2016 was missing from the course entirely.

The price has been upgraded to $1,997 for the all access package.

The hard sell, introduction of a proper MLM network.

As I mentioned before, Drop Ship Lifestyle has turned into a MLM network, and they are really emphasizing this. The sign up page doesn’t include the price of the course until you get to the second or third sales video. For example checkout step 1 and 2 of the sales videos. Once you get to video 3 you’ll be hit with the price: $1,997.

Throughout the sales videos you’re promised of a robust refund policy such as 30 day money back guarantee but make sure you read the small print very carefully. While the terms and conditions are perfectly reasonable, you effectively have to show you have completed the entire course before requesting a refund. If you can’t show them, you won’t get a refund. This contradicts a 30 day money back guarantee.

dsl refund policy

Why You Shouldn’t Buy The Course

So I’ve told you everything you need to know about what you’ll get should you sign up, but here are all my reasons why you don’t need to become a member of this course. Again as outlined above these are my personal views and there’s no affiliate links around here. If you’ve already bought the course you may or may not agree with my views.

Crazy Price

The course is seriously overpriced for what you get (Update January 2017, it’s now gone up another $1,000). Given the course use to cost $250, $500 and recently $1000 prior to version 4 being released the price is rather steep for most people. If you break everything down into individual modules there are far better resources out there which you can bundle together and still leave yourself with over $1,500 for building your business.

If you are really focused on building a drop shipping business you need to sit down and cost everything out. As Anton points out you won’t become rich overnight and building an ecommerce business is tough. You’re going to need to invest money to make money. Anton claims he started his first business with $29 and turned it into $1.8 million but you should set aside at least $250-$500 startup costs on top of the course cost and that’s doing all the work yourself. Outsourcing and hiring help will add thousands more. A good business plan is vital before investing in this course.

Personally I think the vendors have got a little too big for their boots and have hiked the price right up due to the popularity of the course. I think a price point of $500 for the basic and $1,497 for the done for you package is much more suitable for this course.

 

Shopify Only

The course is built on the basis that you’re going to build your website using Shopify. Should you happen to click on Anton’s affiliate links you’ll send 20% of your monthly Shopify bill direct to their affiliate accounts. The only training they include on setting up your store is with this platform so your tied down to ultimately using them. It would be better if they showed you how to use other platforms such as Woocommerce which is free.

If you haven’t already checked yet, Shopify charge over $300 per year to host you’re store and it’s likely you’ll need the $79 per month plan ($900/year) if your planning on building a larger store. On top of that you’ll need to pay 1-2% transaction fee on every sale, a monthly fee for any third party apps you plan on installing and a credit card merchant fee too.

The default Shopify templates are pretty poor as well so if you want a high quality store it’s likely you’ll need to pay for a premium theme or get help from a web developer. Some of the best sites to use include Themeforest and Templatemonster but this will add another $60-$140 to your startup costs. The combined Shopify costs will add up dramatically on top of the course costs which aren’t explained in the sales pitch.

drop ship lifestyle review shopify pricing

 

Niche Selection

This part of the course is pretty sub standard and could be improved dramatically. If you look online at negative and neutral reviews of the course everyone seems to be heading the same way. Choosing what to sell is undoubtedly the most important aspect when it comes to building a drop ship business and choosing the wrong niche will ensure your business fails from day one. For example, you’d be a fool to start an electronics business up against Amazon as your cost price will be less than their retail price – I guarantee it.

To Anton’s credit he does offer a niche selection verification whereby he will validate your idea before you get started. Whether this is a good thing or not, I’m not sure. You’ve heard the saying don’t give away trade secrets, so why would you tell someone who owns many drop ship businesses a hot niche you’re thinking of entering, sounds a bit suspicious to me.

 

No SEO Strategy

As mentioned earlier in this monster review, Anton doesn’t offer any guidance on organic search engine ranking. I’ve read articles where Anton openly states it takes too long to get your products infront of suitable audiences so focus on Adwords rather than SEO. The downside to this is that not everyone has the funds to spend $thousands of dollars promoting their store.

Let’s say you’ve spent $1,997 on the course, $79 on setting up your site and now you need to spend $500 on advertising, how are you going to feel? Chances are, the extra costs weren’t clearly identified in the sales videos? I know the ones I watched definitely didn’t mention anything.

Yes there are free coupons to get started with Google Adwords and yes there is training modules from Anton but the honest fact is that Adwords is tough and inexperienced users will blow their budget within a few hours with no sales and no leads either. Anton simply gives the traffic methods that work for him and SEO isn’t one of them.

 

The Rest of the Community Got In For Under $500

I brought this up earlier and it’s important to know that 95% of the members currently in the community managed to get in for a fraction of the price you’ll be able to get in for. It was made clear before the course was upgraded that version 1,2,3 members would get lifetime access to version 4 for free. Subsequently Anton lowered the price to $497 days before closing version 3 to increase his cash flow to develop version 4.

drop ship lifestyle 50% off

Source: WarriorForum

So what does that mean for you? Well all current members get free access to the drop ship retreat each year whereas you’ll need to fork out $2,997 to go. Secondly that drop ship supplier section that is in the premium package upwards is accessible by the other 4,000 members already registered and the posts in the DS community are likely to be well outdated by now given the first member joined over 4 years ago.

If you want to get in on the action then just bare in mind most members are no longer using the site as they are either rather successful or found out that drop shipping isn’t as profitable as it once was (most fall into this category).

 

What if you’re not based in the USA?

Update January 2017: Anton now includes a brief course on this topic.

One of the major flaws in the course is that Anton doesn’t cover anything regarding starting a drop ship business from overseas or outside the United States. Are you aware of your legal obligations regarding tax and overseas business from your own country? If not you should consider seeking independent advice before starting your drop ship business.

To give you a better understanding, I’m a citizen of New Zealand and have never been to the United States but I have drop ship businesses there. If you’re an international business (i.e. New Zealand) are you aware of how you should structure your business in the United States? Probably not.

usa-tax-iconLong story short, you need to be a USA entity of some form or another to work with most American drop shippers. Similarly if you want to work with drop shippers in Europe you’ll need to be a registered European business or sole trader with a VAT number. If you’re from a foreign country like me, you’ll know that’s not possible unless you live there.

Anton’s course doesn’t offer any guidance on how you can/should legally setup your drop ship business using USA/European based suppliers. One way is to register an offshore company in a tax haven in the USA, i.e. Wyoming or Delaware where international entities can register USA companies without ever visiting the country. I wrote a full article on the topic here (Enter your email to get the full guide).

Do You Live Outside USA?
Despite what the sales pitch says, I’ve met people all over the world that are lured into this course only to find out they can’t get started as there is no local information, drop shippers or suppliers to target their intended market. If you’re from Australia, Canada, USA or UK the course will be useful as you can start work right away. If you’re from India or Serbia you probably won’t know have access to local drop shippers, can’t target your own country and must go further a field. This is when you need to setup a USA company, find international suppliers and drop shippers. This brings more costs, and the potential for problems to arise is much greater.

Store Coach, a drop ship lifestyle alternative does cover this topic in great detail and at a fraction of the price of DSL. They offer much clearer advice on structuring a drop shipping business for Non USA Citizens. If you do end up buying DSL you won’t know how to set up your business correctly and could be very costly if the IRS comes after you in 5 years time!

 

Can You Make Money Drop Shipping?

I get asked this question almost once a week and my answer is always the same. Yes and No. Honestly, drop shipping is not the same as it was back in 2010 when it was hot and Amazon was growing at a slower rate. Back then you could compete with the prices Amazon charges and actually make a profit. Now, you can guarantee Amazon has the best price on 95% of products available to buy online. If not Walmart, Best Buy or another giant will be close behind.

Fast forward to 2016 and Amazon is one of the biggest online stores in the world with billions of dollars being spent every month through their site. If a supplier could choose a retailer to work with between yourself and Amazon who are they likely to choose? Amazon right. They will guarantee sales and line of credit to encourage suppliers to work with them.

With the launch of courses such as Drop Ship Lifestyle thousands of people are trying to start businesses in the same niche with the same suppliers, selling the same products at the same prices. Let’s say you find a supplier that offers a daily CSV file of the latest products, you can bet your life a hundred other drop shippers have the same file and are selling the same products.

The only way to make a decent income from drop shipping is to be different and I don’t believe drop ship lifestyle encourages this to it’s users. You need to find products no one else is researching, you need to call the supplier directly and you need to grab yourself a custom CSV file and automatically update your site every day. You need to spend money on developing a unique site, providing high levels of support and an experience your customers won’t forget.

Long story short, you can make money drop shipping, if you do it right. 

My Drop Ship Training Alternatives

These suggestions include affiliate links. This is the alternative to the course I recommend you take if you aren’t fussed about joining a community and would rather build a unique drop ship business using various resources.

Store Coach

You might have heard of this site if you’ve read other reviews comparing the two services. The difference between the two is that much of the training is actually free over at Store Coach with further reading available through the paid pro plan. At $49 per month (cancel any time) the course is a fraction of Drop Ship Lifestyle and offers much more reading rather than just video tutorials.

store coach review

Other things you’ll find in the paid version include to-do lists, resources, advanced tips and tutorials, software to make certain tasks easier and a community forum similar to DSL with direct access to the coaches. The benefits I see over DSL is the niche research section and product sourcing information is far more diverse and helpful.

 

Salehoo

Next you’ll want to sign up for Salehoo which is a wholesale and drop ship supplier directory which has been around for over 10 years. With over 10,000 resources to checkout in a wide range of countries including the United States, United Kingdom, New Zealand, Australia and Europe you’ll be able to find drop shippers quickly.

salehoo review

Salehoo provide the contact details and minimum order quantities, setup fees (if any) and much more helpful information on all suppliers in their directory. You can get started for roughly $67 and ignore any upsells they promote to you on signup.

Limited Time Offer: $1 TRIAL

Salehoo are currently running a $1 trial. This is limited to the first 50 signups.

  1. Simply click here to activate the discount price. (Won’t work without this step)
  2. Then close your browser and click here to complete the $1 checkout process.

 

Shopify or Woocommerce

Just like Anton I do think Shopify is a good hosted platform for creating your website especially if you’re new to ecommerce. For around $29 you can get started but do checkout the pricing structure above as the monthly price will fluctuate depending on your sales level.

There are plenty of premium themes you can choose from when installing Shopify but they run around $180 each so I recommend checking out a third party vendor such as TemplateMonster or Themeforest where you can get Shopify themes from $80 – $140.

shopify vs woocommerce review

If you know your way around web hosting and wordpress then I’d recommend building a website using the Woocommerce platform which is a free plugin from Woothemes and is very customizable. For even better customization you can pickup premium plugins on Themeforest for $5-$12 each. You will need to host your own website using reliable hosting.

Both solutions offer credit card processing applications although Shopify is much easier to process credit card payments if you’re from the USA, Canada or the United Kingdom as you can use Shopify’s very own payment processor. If you’re like me and from a country where credit card fraud is still in it’s early days of prevention you’ll need a merchant account with your bank and a service such as Paypal credit cards, Braintree, DPS or 2Checkout. I personally use Braintree payments for all my drop ship websites.

 

Promotion

Now you’ve got your store setup and added products you should start to promote your store. There’s tons of free information out there on how best to do this but the best way’s I’ve had success with include:

  • Setup a Facebook page, post 3-4 times a week. Buy 300 likes from Fiverr to start your page off.
  • Setup Instagram, Twitter, LinkedIn and post 3-4 times a week.
  • Add your website to Google Maps. Use a PO Box if you’re worried about using a home address.
  • Guest post on blogs related to your website, offer freebies in exchange for reviews.
  • Print business cards or promo vouchers and leave them everywhere you go.
  • Start a Facebook ads campaign or Google Adwords simple campaign.

 

Drop Ship Lifestyle Conclusion

To conclude I have explained in detail what’s covered as part of drop ship lifestyle and why I recommend you don’t sign up. personally I believe the amount of information online that will help you succeed with drop shipping is there and doesn’t need a $1,497 price tag. If you do want training and a complete step-by-step guide, with help and support I would recommend Store Coach due to the reduced price ($49 a month) and additional assistance with operational measures rather than just building your business.

Checkout my other reviews:

Review
  • Affordability
  • Course Content
  • Niche Research
  • Help & Guidance
  • Formation Advice

Summary

Drop Ship Lifestyle is an overpriced course but does pack quite a punch in terms of content. The lack of niche research and business formation advice for international users scored very low. The guidance offered is below average due to the number of members.

2

Lastly, If you want to see a review of someone who bought the course and is now promoting his affiliate link, watch the video below. You can make your own comparisons from this video.

Did you enjoy this article?

Join my mailing list and receive an email once I publish new content.

Double optin required. I respect your privacy.

Comments

  1. says

    Hi Rhys! Thanks for visiting my blog! I just subscribed coz you seemed genuine and sincere. I read this full article and it made me think that you were absolutely right! DSL is a rip-off. I signed up with them last 2013 and I live in the Philippines and I wasn’t able to execute the business simply coz Anton didn’t really discuss about setting up a business if you’re living outside US. Although I contacted Johnny FD through his facebook page, he did tell me that I have to secure a form to be a US trader or somethin’. Anyhoo, I also noticed that you forgot to link the article where you wrote about ” Delaware where international entities can register USA companies without ever visiting the country. I wrote a full article on the topic over here.” Looking forward to read that article. Hope to hear from you. Cheers mate! =)

    • Rhys says

      Yes, I agree with you, they have a great sales pitch but they offer no help for anyone outside the US and Canada. Store Coach does offer a complete course which usually costs $97 which is included free with a paid membership with them. DSL’s advice is fine if you want to work with China drop shippers where tax/legal setup is a bit less important but working with USA ones is not just a matter of emailing them and getting setup. Thanks for pointing out the missing link, you can check it out here.

  2. Murugesh says

    Hi, have you done a review on wealthy affiliate? I did look up on google for your review but couldn’t find anything. I see a ton of people promoting wealthy affiliate showing the success stories of people. Its a MLM network, so not easy to find honest reviews.

    • Rhys says

      Hey, I haven’t done one, it’s crossed my mind a few times to do one however as you’ve said it’s an MLM and 99% of people in a MLM network only actually make money by promoting others to join. The other 1% follow the course and do actually start a website or venture but how many actually make money? My advice would be to start a blog and promote other peoples products, i.e. Amazon Associates or Clickbank products instead of paying $49 a month for WA.

      • Murugesh says

        Is ecommerce dropshipping business model in US still profitable? I am just starting out on Internet Marketing and don’t wanna lose my money and time on something that isn’t working anymore, I don’t mind low profits, profit of $300-400/month starting out would be more than okay[is that achievable?] but don’t wanna lose the invested money. would love to hear your honest opinion.
        Thanks!

        • Rhys says

          Yes it’s profitable but only if you find a niche that hasn’t been over saturated yet. I’ve seen many people fail by choosing the wrong niche, for example electronics or brand name clothing. For example, one of my dropship stores deals with a particular type of adventure sports products – you have to find a gap in the market ;).

          If your just starting out I’d definitely recommend building Amazon Affiliate sites instead, that’s what I’m doing now as well for more passive income profits.

          Drop shipping requires a marketing budget, handling customer service, dealing with fraud, returns and uncertainty that a supplier might vanish overnight. You really need time and money to succeed at drop shipping in 2016. It’s possible, but most will fail.

          Rhys

  3. Elijah says

    Hi, good article. However, I’m confused why you follow it with a raving video review for the course? Are you just showing an example of an affiliate trying to sell it as well?

    • Rhys says

      Yes, I’m glad you’ve reminded me as I notice some missing text outlining, ‘Now have a look at a review of someone who purchased the course’ and compare. Will add this now. Thanks, glad you enjoyed my article.

      • Ed says

        After seeing that video, it’s definitely a must not to do the course.

        I’m honestly astonished by all these web marketing gurus that really know nothing or close to nothing.

        This was a really good review.
        I’m not going to buy anything.
        But this was a well written article.
        Thank you.

  4. Eoghan says

    Hey Mate, great honest review. Probably the only drop shipper online not trying to cash in on the affilaite “reviews”!! I was going to be a complete newb and get into it…thanks for the heads up! Think Store Coach just does a lump sum now instead of subscription based, is that true?
    Main question, I am a resident of NZ also and was wondering what are your views on dropshipping here & Aussie?? smaller populations but no AMZ FBA!!

    • Rhys says

      Hi Eoghan,

      Yes I don’t need to get involved in the MLM network and make money that way, if all those members were making money through dropshipping they wouldn’t need too either. Store Coach use to be a one time fee but they recently changed to $49 per month after you create a free account.

      I tried drop shipping in New Zealand but due to the small population and Trademe opening their doors to international sellers it never really worked out, unless you find a niche product. I can’t speak much for Australia but I’ve used some of the dropshippers there that I found on Salehoo.

      I’ve made most of my $$ using my USA and UK dropshippers but the profits are nothing like they use to be back in 2008-2012.

      Rhys

      • Eoghan says

        Thanks for the insight and reply Rhys. ..much appreciated.

        Out of curiosity what would be, in your view/experience, the average “decent” profit margin that can be attained nowadays through dropshipping ?

        • Rhys says

          They will be very low nowadays unless you can find a niche that hasn’t been explored yet. For example I saw someone on post on Drop Ship Lifestyle forums saying they are drop shipping detox water bottles which cost $2 and retail for $17.

          I personally never drop ship products I can’t make 50% on and the products must be over $100. Once you factor in sales fees, merchant fees, returns, marketing and labor anything less isn’t worth it these days unless your selling lots, i.e. a $5 product x 1000 a day instead of 5 x $100 items a day.

          • Eoghan says

            Excellent advise Rhys, really do appreciate it. Do you have any recommendations of merchant accounts to use your kiwi cards/bank accounts?

            Storecoach recommends 2checkout…at 4% +0.45 per transaction nz!

            PS cheers for the affiliate link 😉

          • Rhys says

            I use Braintree payments for my stores as they accept kiwi businesses. Once Stripe launches officially here I will probably switch across to them. For my US business I use Braintree as well. I think Storecoach recommends 2Checkout as it’s universal so much easier for first time drop shippers but yes bit pricey but they do charge alot less on chargebacks and disputes compared to other companies so it does level out.

          • Rhys says

            I’m not sure, usually I just pick someone that offers a slightly smaller package than the normal. Try and get USA likes if possible too. I don’t have a go to guy for FB likes.

  5. Marlena says

    Hi there,

    I really liked and appreciated your article. Like everyone else, I’m just starting out and looking to maximize my effort and investment. You mentioned creating an Amazon affiliate site, do you recommend any specific resources to learn more about that?

      • Ron says

        Hi Rhys, I also really appreciated your review on Dropship Lifestyle. Anton made me a believer but I was an ex auditor for a bank who unfortunately got laid off due to cost cutting. I am just starting out on learning about dropshipping and affiliate business. I live in Canada so it was an eye opener to land on your review about the tax implications.

        I started with creating a WordPress site myself building it from scratch. I bought a software that provides data feed to import products from Amazon to my site. I created a site which was affiliated with Amazon. I managed to refer them a couple of sales with little promotions but it was strictly friends that patronized my site and the sales got referred to Amazon. Now, here are a couple of problems and big ones too. First, the couple of sales referred to them from my site I did not get paid for any commission. I wrote them and they said the products did not fall within their rules. What? It is their products!!! I asked what are these rules. They wouldn’t tell me as they said it is their proprietary information. They do have some guidelines but these guidelines are very general that don’t really tell you much of anything. So the 2 orders did not count!!! My only guess is that the products sold were from 3rd parties selling on Amazon and Amazon did not pay commission for these products. But how would I know which products are good and which are not if they can’t disclose me their rules! Second, they also did a review of my sign-up and decided altogether to close my account, after I have launched my site and established all the product links. Why? What happened was when I was signing up, it asked me to list the site that I could be affiliating with Amazon. So, being new to this business, I listed a few website names I registered and signed up. Well, the reason why Amazon closed my affiliate account was based on the reason that my other sites were not up yet even though one of these sites was up and running and fully functional. It was so immensely frustrating to deal with Amazon. They are a giant and they can do whatever they want. So hard lesson learned. I no longer want to be affiliated with Amazon but I rather sign up for other affiliate programs that actually want me to promote their businesses and pay people fairly for the work they do.

  6. Bellton says

    Hi Rhys,

    Good Article. I would be luck enough If I have read this page before I purchased the DSL recently. After me scanning the members area and the contents of training, I 100% agree with your reviews and not recommend anyone to purchase this course.

    When I asked for refund, the support team is not willing to refund my purchase, though I raised it within 30 day period. Can you please throw light on how to get the refund, is there any alternate way to get the refund. Is there any way to file a case with my credit card company to get my money back. Please help.

    Thanks

    • Rhys says

      Hi Bellton, If you paid with credit card then you should be able to claim a refund through Visa or Mastercard by contacting your issuing bank. The website clearly states 30 day money back guarantee so I would have thought Anton would have refunded you. Good luck contacting your bank.

    • Dina says

      Did you ever figure out the refund situation? I’m in the same situation but I haven’t asked for the refund yet because I’m afraid they will not follow through.

      I did pay by credit card so I’m not sure if the credit card company will help.

      • Rhys says

        Hi Dina, Did you find the course doesn’t relate to people located in foreign countries? If you paid by credit card you can have more lucky getting a refund, call your bank.

  7. CNX says

    Excellent summary, hope this gets some traction as opposed to the affiliate crap littered everywhere for this course so people can have an unbiased look at it.

    I think it speaks volumes that the only non-affiliate link reviews that you can find are generally negative.

    Anton & Johnny basically got rich via affiliate income from selling dreams, not dropshipping. Very unethical, untrustworthy guys in my personal opinion, Johnny especially, but hey, C.R.E.A.M, dollar dollar bills y’all!

  8. says

    Thank you – I was contemplating Anton Kraly’s course to add products to my niche legal service website but was worried about how it applied outside the USA. Wish there was more info for Aussies and Kiwis – both have great businesses creating boutique products and there are willing entrepreneurs to sell them! Would like to see more local suppliers offering drop ship for us. Kind regards Deborah Culhane

    • Rhys says

      In theory any business could drop ship for you. Most of the companies I work with didn’t have anything advertised on their websites. I called them, told them I would increase their sales for free if they shipped goods without an invoice and plain packaging. Results = long term partnerships, hope it helps.

        • Rhys says

          Hi Ed, you provide them an invoice under your own company name.. After all they are paying you for the goods, not the supplier so you give them an invoice for the products as if you were shipping them. Buyer will never know that you’re dropshipping.

  9. Luis javier says

    Hi Rhys,

    Excellent review, you said that is hard do drop shipping this days unless you find a very good and not overcrowded niche , does store coach can teach me that, or I’m going to have to take the Amazon affiliate stores route, which I don’t like too much because that’s base in Amazon commissions and those are very low.

    What do you think.

    Thanks

    • Rhys says

      Hi Luis,

      No problems, glad you found it helpful. Store Coach and Drop Ship Lifestyle both struggle to provide in detail how to pick an undercrowded niche… if they helped provide this then everyone would probably go out and start doing it. That being said, store Coach provides much more valuable info on choosing a niche.

      With regards to niche affiliate stores you don’t have to put all your eggs in one basket, i.e. you can use Walmart, Best Buy, Jet.com or other affiliate programs too. You could also add info products from Clickbank or Jvzoo to your sites.

      Hope it helps, let me know if any more queries.

  10. Zamasu says

    Can you make a course review for “Create A Profitable Online Store” by Steve Chou please? and provide pro and con on what you believe of these course.

    Thank you

  11. Winson Lim says

    Hi Rhys, I’m from Singapore and I would like to know how to setup using proper legal procedures.

    Using fb ads to drive traffic seems to be the most popular ways but it will eat you alive burning away all your budget.

    Store Coach does teach how to setup in Asia countries?

    • Rhys says

      Hi Winson,

      Store Coach does not show you how to setup in Asian countries so to speak, they show you how you can start a US based business from outside the USA. There are many different setup procedures for different countries and it would be too much content to cover for every country.

      Usually you just need to form a company and then ensure your taking account of all your operating expenses and profits..

      If your concerned about Facebook Ads then maybe checkout some cheaper traffic sources such as Google Adwords or Bing Ads.

      Good luck

  12. Joe says

    Yeah, unfortunately I bought the course. I would recommend staying away from it…the information is not worth the price at all. If you do buy it plan on having your inbox fill up with hundreds of emails from Anton selling you more sh**.

    • Rhys says

      I agree with you on those emails, I used a different email address to avoid those autoresponder messages. He is constantly spamming his course on Facebook ads too as ‘Sponsored’ posts.

  13. Joe says

    Oh, and there are a lot of good reviews because he has contest for the best five minute video review. You can win a bunch of crap in my opinion but people go nuts for it. Paid/bribed reviews..it’s sad

  14. says

    Rhys,

    Thanks for the review, I enjoyed it a lot. Your writing style seems very transparent and honest. Do you have reviews of other dropshipping or ecommerce products? I’ve seen another blog make a dashboard with several reviews side by side.

    Just a thought… it would be helpful for other people like me who are looking for additional education but inundated with more and more ecommerce training courses.. Seems like theres more courses than honest legit reviews.

    Nick

  15. David says

    Hi Rhys I was about to sign up for antons course
    Your blog opened my eyes a bleeding in disguise
    I am grateful
    However I am about to start a drooshipping business and plan on creating a website on Shopify for my niche

    I have selected a niche and would like to understand how can I know if the niche I selected is saturated because in every niche there are sellers

    And as far as I understand unless your buying from China all other dropshippers anywhere in the world have prices which they would offer you maybe 5 percent less as compared to the store price if you sell their items in your Shopify store which is not possible to make a profit what is the go around for this

    Your advice would be greatly appreciated
    Kind regards
    David

    • Rhys says

      Hi David, I recommend opening a Shopify store on the 30 day trial, list 3-5 products and go out there and promote your site via Facebook Ads or Google Adwords. If you get sales and make money then there is a demand for your products. You could do lots of keyword research but ultimately putting your drop ship products in the face of consumers will show you if it’s a saturated market or not.

      Your correct on the statement re drop shippers unless your niche is something with big markups such as clothing, supplements etc. If your selling mainstream products you’d be lucky to make 5-10% per sale.

  16. Colin Ball says

    Thanks for your views on the DSL programme Rhys. I’m UK based and key for any business start up is undestanding country based regs tax and trading.. I currently sell private label products on Amazon.com. I intend to open up a UK wholesale / drop shipping sales channel to test sell products sourced in the UK / Europe before inventory purchases. Any comments on this strategy ?
    Thanks

    • Rhys says

      Hi Colin, I’d definitely recommend a drop shipping sales channel before dropping a ton of cash on stock, you can then test the waters with lower profit margins but a much smaller investment upfront.

  17. Nelson says

    Nice article, are you based in Auckland? Very interested to hear about your dropshipping sites in the US. I currently run three businesses from Auckland and looking to reach out to the US. Your help would be much appreicated

    • Rhys says

      Hi Nelson, I live in Wellington. I primarily use sites in the US that I reached out to and asked if they would drop ship for me. It sounds like you might be wanting to expand your local business and ship to the USA? Unfortunately I don’t have much experience with that, as when I went to the post office and courierpost the price of shipping was ludicrous. You can reach out to me via my contact form and we can discuss further.

  18. mani says

    Hi Rhys, great article. I have been searching for an honest review on this product for a while now, Im glad I came across yours. Im also from NZ and I’ve wasted quite alot of money on online ventures in the past couple of years, im 22, got a small family and cant really afford to waste much more, I have a few thousand to my name and im just wondering if you think drop shipping is a good idea for me to pursue? or will there be to many obstacles being from nz?

    • Rhys says

      Hi Mani,

      Drop shipping is a good idea however it’s not as profitable as it once was. If you do buy the course, it will cost you many thousands more to actually setup properly. If you checkout my USA drop ship setup guide, you can see that it cost me over $7,000 to setup a USA business before I could work with USA suppliers.

      I’ve worked with New Zealand drop shippers and long story short, there are only a couple of big ones which most smaller retailers already use so competition is rife so the only way to make money from drop shipping in my opinion is in the Canada, USA, UK or Europe markets due to the size.

      I would explore amazon affiliate marketing instead.

      Rhys

  19. mani says

    Hi Rhys, great advice. Im also from nz and have wasted quite a bit of money in the past couple of years trying online ventures, im 22 with a small family and cant really afford to waste much more. I have a few thousand left to my name, do you think its a good idea for me to invest this into dropshipping or will i run into to many obstacles being from nz?

    • Rhys says

      Hi Mani,

      I’ve answered your question below. Many obstacles from NZ but definitely possible. You need to factor in other costs such as advertising on top of the course fee, business entity setup etc.

  20. says

    Very accurate article. I was briefly promoting the course until I actually saw the scam with my own eyes in Chiang Mai. It’s quite sickening and should be brought to more people’s attention.

    Best,
    Brian

  21. says

    Hi Rhys,

    Nice to see someone being brutally honest! I signed up for the course in 2016 – paid $1200, selected a very lucrative niche – I have done near $500K in revenue for the year, and then went on to Coach for DSL as well. Granted, I was not new to the game, I am a User Experience designer by trade and even worked a couple years for Amazon. I know my success was largely all in part from my existing knowledge, not the DSL course. I did glean some basic info from the DSL course that I now know I could’ve found on other blogs.

    My biggest beef with DSL is the dishonesty and downright defrauding of their customers I witnessed as a Coach for them. Since I am professionally experienced with Design, I coached students on their store design, because DSL training doesn’t cover this – purposefully I think so that they can push their $3K done-for-you sites. Anyhow, on several occasions I coached students that paid the big bucks for the done-for-you sites only to find that they were 95% the same as other students’ of mine sites… in the same niche even! I alerted the students to the injustice and told them to demand a redesign for a UNIQUE site, they paid $3k after-all!

    Another issue I have is all the niche-stealing that goes on. Had it happen personally. I consulted with a fellow ‘Coach’ that is now a Paid Employee of DSL, about my very lucrative niche, because he was more experienced and I assumed ethical, and low and behold, two months later, he opened a store in my same niche. Confirmed by the WhoIs domain information even. That is very unethical and unjust if you ask me.

    Not to mention, the other coaches who have no professional experience in what they are being paid “Coaching” fees in at $90/hr cost to the students, all give very basic and very contradictory information to the students. What a mess. Another income stream for Anton to upsell Coaching packages. These coaches and the DSL paid employess know what everyone’s niches are, and they never advise the students to not go in to over-saturated niches, like stand up paddleboards, standing-desks, fireplaces, firepits, and ceramic pizza ovens.. just to name a few. Shame on them!

    Needless to say, I don’t drink the DSL Koolaid and have ventured out on my own to share my conversion design and user experience knowledge with people. I really only wanted to help others from the beginning and help them see success too and fill the gaps of the course they bought. Check it out: https://diydropshipdesign.com/
    I’ll be sharing all of what I know from design and usability standpoint, with how it’ll impact your conversions and ROI.

    Again, THANK you for being honest, and I am happy to share my experience further with you too. Hope to get acquainted and feel free to use me as a resource too.

    Cheers! Sarah

  22. GetItGoing says

    Hi, I actually bought the DSL course and I agree, it was expensive at $1,497 when I signed up. I didn’t know until later that former customers got in for about $500. It’s also nearly impossible to get ahold of anyone from DSL when you have questions, etc. If not for people like Earnest Epps no one would have good answers when they have “real” questions for successful DS people on the forum, which is a shame.

    Thanks for the write-up. Also I agree that the niche selection, which appears to be the most critical – and difficult – part is not appropriately covered. That’s a very disappointing factor. New people can expect to struggle very much with this. It’s not fun, and slows you down very badly.

    Funny you mention Amazon affiliates – coincidentally I did hear about that via Johnny FD’s podcast and started 2 Amazon affiliate sites recently. And advice regarding that? And how long before you started getting some income?

    I’ll take a look at the StoreCoach info. I hadn’t heard of it before.

    Thanks!

    • Joanne says

      GetItGoing – Some constructive criticism for you, don’t take it to heart, but please pay attention.

      I see you all over the various guru and digital nomad blogs, following JohnnyFDs terrible advice while lining his pockets and basically wasting your money without a clue, as well as defending his and other shady behaviour like a blind sheep. All the time and money you’ve spent on crappy courses like DSL and chasing fleeting business opportunities you could have learnt a real skill, coding, SEO, whatever, and been in a much better position today. Everyone told you DSL was a rip off and Johnny only promotes it the way he does to get money etc. but you never listened, you just called everyone haters or whatever else. Step back and wake up. Stop chasing these shiny objects and whatever the hot business at the moment being sold by marketers and course sellers is and invest in yourself and a skill.

      I hope you take this advice, or else you’ll be stuck in an endless circle being taken advantage of without realizing.

  23. Dave says

    Just an FYI, Wealthy Affiliate is not MLM. You do not receive tiered commissions like in MLM programs. In addition, their MAIN course is designed to teach you to build a website based on your own niche, promoting companies like Amazon, or other smaller affiliate programs.

    Of course, people gravitate towards the recurring, large commissions offered by Wealthy Affiliate, which is why you see so many sites promoting it.

    It is a good program though, and you are not required to promote their company.

Leave a Reply